Educational Scholarship Recipients

Posted on November 10, 2014 · Posted in Uncategorized

We would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2014 Educational Scholarships!

The scholarships offer financial support to young residents as they transition through their schooling. Scholarships from $300-$800 are awarded to young people to assist with the purchase of education-related items such as school fees, uniforms and books. A total of 15 Educational Scholarships were awarded this year for students entering four different year levels – Year 7, Year 11, Year 12 and further education in 2015.For the 2015 Scholarship uptake, 37 applications were received. The lucky recipients are:
–    entering Year 7 ($300) – Isheanopa Mugwara, Jasmin Pereira, Byron Devene and Chloe Pavlov;
–    entering Year 11 ($375) – Caitlyn Johnson, Benjamin Joss, Anthony Mlambo, Thomas Pratt;
–    entering Year 12 ($400) – Katelyn Abbott and Chloe Doomen; and
–    entering Further Education ($800) – Emily Rampant, Larissa Whittingham-Smith, Abby Simmonds, Jasmine Fishwick, Tiana Andreello.“These Scholarships provide families with peace of mind when it comes to school fees and associated costs,” said Mayor Carol Adams.

“Anything that helps to ease the pressure on family finances is to be welcomed and the scholarship funds will no doubt be a huge help towards the cost requirements of school-related items.”

Applications for the next round of Educational Scholarships will open in August 2015. For more information please contact 9236 4550.