2018 LyriK Awards Ceremony Wrap Up!

Posted on July 17, 2018 · Posted in Uncategorized

The LyriK award ceremony was held on Thursday 29 June at the Koorliny Arts Centre with a total of thirteen category winners. 

This year the LyriK program received over 40 nominations, which is a reflection of the positive and supportive community we have right here in Kwinana. Each year the LyriK Awards gain fantastic support from parents, teachers, community members and most importantly, from the youth of Kwinana.

The award ceremony was a full house attended by nominees, nominators, families, friends and distinguished guests which included the Honourable Mr. Reece Whitby (Member for Baldivis), Mr. Colin Pettit (Commissioner for Children and Young People), Her Worship Mayor Carol Adams, Deputy Mayor Peter Feasey, elected council members and supporters of the LyriK program. Also in attendance were representatives, Des Halstead from Coogee Chemicals and Scott Hansen and Simon Pascoe from Alcoa who are proud sponsors of the LyriK program.


The LyriK Awards have six categories and a great opportunity to acknowledge a positive young person aged 10 to 18 years, making a positive impact on the Kwinana Community. The individual category award winners received a two hundred and fifty dollar incentive to spend on an opportunity of their choosing. Category winners were also given a further fifty dollars to donate towards a charity of their choice.

The event commenced with an acknowledgement to country by local young person and assistant Master of Ceremonies Joshua Kickett and was hosted by Master of Ceremonies Brayden Kelly followed by a showcase of  talented performances by The Kings College Music Academy students Paris Cusack and Terina Taylor.

Mayor Carol Adams spoke about how the LyriK Awards highlight “the selflessness and awareness shown by our young nominees, which is an exceptional sign that Kwinana will have strong leaders in the future” before presenting awards in the Achievement category to Chole Ruston and Lewis Wipp. Mayor Adams said “The LyriK Awards is a fantastic program that not only highlights the exceptional youth in Kwinana but fosters their development to go on and achieve greater success.”

All girl band: Dulcie

The audience was entertained with a flawless couple of sets by an all girl band – Dulcie who are fresh to Western Australian music scene.  A significant highlight of the evening was keynote speaker – Adam Przytula (Armed for Life) who wowed the audience with his charming energy and funny anecdotes whilst sharing his personal story and unique approach to resilience. Adam then presented awards in the Respect Award category to Ché Reid and Jaxon Maksimovic.

Keynote Presenter: Adam Przytula (Armed for Life)

The audience heard from prior LyriK Award recipients and #LyriKLegends  – Tia Jones and Ashleigh Reidy who both shared updates on their journey since receiving their LyriK Awards the previous year.

In the highly contested Leadership category, the Commissioner for Children and Young People – Colin Pettit was invited to the stage to present the awards in this category. Needless to say the stage was full with young people gracing the stage with the awards in this category going to Gilmore College students; Shakyalee Wallam and Desmond Franks.

The evening culminated in the presentation of the Progress Award and LyriK Young Person of the Year by MLA Reece Whitby. Jermaine Pickett was awarded the Progress Award after being nominated last year for a LyriK award and again this year. Jermaine had demonstrated continued progress in his sporting achievements as well as personal development of his leadership qualities which resulted in a positive impact on his team mates.

Michellie Jones was announced as the recipient of the LyriK Young Person of the Year award for her consistent and unselfish contribution to the community as a group leader of the Salavation Army youth group and support of vulnerable young people through delivery of school holiday camps and programs.

LyriK Young Person of the Year: Michellie Jones with MLA Reece Whitby

Congratulations to all the 2018 LyriK Award nominees and award recipients.

Category winners are as follows:

Chloe Ruston Achievement Award (10-14)
Lewis Wipp Achievement Award (15-18)
Travis Corkill Inspiration Award (10-14)
Brayden Kelly Inspiration Award (15-18)
Shakaylee Wallam Leadership Award (10-14)
Desmond Franks Leadership Award (15-18)
Ebonie Cortez Mateship Award (15-18)
Chè Reid Respect Award (10-14)
Jaxson Maksimovic Respect Award (15-18)
North Parmelia Primary School Councillors 2018 Teamwork Award (10-14)
KIC iWomen Project – Gilmore College Teamwork Award (15-18)
Jermaine Pickett Progress Award
Michellie Jones Young Person of the Year